Daycare Tax Tips

FCC Payroll Account Set Up

We can have you paying employees in no time!

FCC Payroll serves daycare providers and other California small businesses with 10 or fewer employees. Feel free to send us an email or call us at 800-616-1268 with any questions.

If you are hiring for the first time, we can handle all the paperwork for you. If you already have employees, we are happy to help you switch to our service at any time.

Here are the steps to get on board with FCC Payroll:

STEP 1 - Fill out Form I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification for each employee, unless you have done so previously. Employees must present two original forms of identification. Keep I-9 forms in your records. Do NOT send them to us or to the Department of Homeland Security. Here is a link to the Form I-9 instructions.

STEP 2 - Have each employee fill out Form W-4, Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate. Employees can also fill out a separate California DE-4 withholding form, if they wish. (This is useful if they want different income tax withholding settings for federal and state purposes.) Keep employee W-4 forms with your employment records. Do NOT send W-4 forms to us. Do not send them to the IRS either, unless an employee claims to be exempt from withholding or claims more than 10 withholding allowances. In that case you must follow these special instructions.

STEP 3 - If an employee would like to have their paycheck directly deposited into a bank account, have them fill out this Authorization for Direct Deposit. Mail the direct deposit form to our office and BE SURE TO ATTACH A VOIDED CHECK. Employees who do not have checks will need to ask their bank for a document that shows the routing and account number for their bank account. Direct Deposit is an optional service and a small bank fee** will apply. Normal procedure is for you to write employee paychecks yourself. Employees can start or stop direct deposit at any time.

STEP 4 - If you already have an Employer Identification Number (EIN), you can skip this step. Otherwise, follow these instructions now and get an EIN in just a few minutes.

You may already have an employer ID number, which is a business ID number provided by the IRS. If you previously acquired a tax id number from the IRS for your business in the format xx-xxxxxxx, that is your EIN.

STEP 5 - Call us at 800-616-1268 ext 2 to activate your account. You can also email us to set up a time to talk on the phone. If possible, have the completed I-9 and W-4 forms handy when you call. We will ask for some sensitive information pertaining to yourself and your employees.

STEP 6 - Paid Sick Leave is mandatory in California. Be sure to read this Sick Leave Information, which covers your options in more detail, including guidelines for reporting employee sick time. Your employees will be granted 24 hours of sick time at the beginning of every year unless you notify us that you prefer the alternate method whereby employees are accrue one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked. Sick leave rules can be confusing, so don't hesitate to contact us with questions.

Here are some additional employer requirements to be aware of:

>> Get several quotes for workers' compensation insurance coverage (required under California state law) and choose your best option.

>> Be aware of required workplace postings and notices. Display or distribute to employees, as necessary.

**Refer to our FCC Payroll Pricing Guide for additional pricing information.

***Employer forms related to direct deposit: Employer Direct Debit Form and/or Paycheck Only Direct Debit Form

Last updated 7 February 2017

Posted on 2010-09-07 05:10:09